JIS News

Minister with responsibility for Information, Telecommunications and Special Projects, Hon. Daryl Vaz, has stated that the Ministry of Education is currently reconfiguring regional education boundaries.
“This reconfiguration of the regions involves an increase in the number of Regional Education Agencies (REAs) from six to seven, and was undertaken with a view to ensuring a more proportionate spread of the school population,” the Minister told Wednesday’s (October 21) Post Cabinet press briefing at Jamaica House.
He noted that the creation of REAs forms part of the Ministry’s Modernisation Programme, and will enable the creation of a responsive decentralised machinery.
The seven REAs, which will be configured within geo-political (parish) boundaries, are: Region 1, Kingston and St. Andrew (153 schools); Region 2, St. Thomas, Portland and St. Mary (169 schools); Region 3, St. Ann and Trelawny (119 schools); Region 4, St. James, Hanover and Westmoreland (165 schools); Region 5, St. Elizabeth and Manchester (159 schools); Region 6: Clarendon (105 schools); and Region 7, St. Catherine (120 schools)

Skip to content