• Information

    Overview of Jamaica


    Jamaica is the third-largest island of the Greater Antilles and the largest English-speaking territory. Situated south of Cuba and west of Haiti in the North West region of the Caribbean Sea, Jamaica has a maximum length, from east to west, of about 235 km (146 mi); the maximum width being around 80 km (50 mi). The total area of the nation is approximately 10,991 sq km (4,244 sq mi). Recently regarded as an archipelagic state by the Maritime Areas Act, Jamaica’s territory extends beyond its coastline to comprise some 66 islands, rocks and cays.

    The island is divided into three counties – Cornwall, Middlesex and Surrey – which are subdivided into 14 parishes: Kingston, St. Andrew, St. Catherine, Clarendon, Manchester, St. Elizabeth, Westmoreland, Hanover, St. James, Trelawny, St. Ann, St. Mary, Portland and St. Thomas. Each parish has a capital town, which is typically the centre of commerce and two parish capitals, Montego Bay in St. James and Kingston, have city status. Kingston, located on the island’s southeast end, is Jamaica’s capital.

    Kingston is the capital and largest city of Jamaica, and also a large commercial seaport.

    Official Name – Jamaica
    Capital – Kingston
    Population – 2,711,476
    Area – 10,991 sq km (4,244 sq mi)
    Official Language – English
    Currency – Jamaican dollar (JMD)

    Governmental Structure

    Unitary Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy

    Legislature: Parliament

    Upper House: Senate

    Lower House: House of Representatives 





    St. Andrew


    St. Thomas



    St. Catherine

    St. Mary

    St. Ann







    St. James


    St. Elizabeth