Mayor of Kingston, Senator, Councillor Delroy Williams.

Local Authorities are those entities at the local level through which the Department of Local Government carries out its functions within communities.

These entities are the Kingston and St. Andrew Municipal Corporation (KSAMC), the Portmore Municipality and the 12 Municipal Corporations.


  • Minor Water Supplies & Social Water
  • Municipal Parks & Beautification
  • Cemeteries
  • Markets
  • Abattoirs
  • Pounds
  • Parking facilities
  • Parochial Roads
  • Local Sustainable Development Planning
  • Drains & Gullies
  • Street Lights
  • Infirmaries and other welfare services

Your Local Authority has two arms, the political and the administrative. The political arm is made up of Councillors, headed by the Mayor who chairs the Council and is responsible for determining policies.  The administrative arm headed by a manager who advises and implements the policies of, the council. The head of the administrative arm of Council is also secretary to the Council and is therefore called the Secretary/Manager except in the case of the Kingston & St Andrew Corporation where this person is called the Town Clerk and Portmore Municipal Council where this person is called the Chief Administrative Officer.

COUNCILLORS LISTING – Updated (September 2021)



Skip to content