JIS News

Governor-General, His Excellency the Most Hon. Professor Kenneth Hall, has appointed the Chairman and members of the Police (Civilian Oversight) Authority, with effect from August 21, 2006.
A release from King’s House states that the Most Reverend Bishop Charles Dufour, has been appointed Chairman. The other members are: Dr. George Phillip, Oliver Clarke, Gladstone Lewars, and Rudolph Hamilton.
The Authority usually consists of five to seven members, including the Chairman, and is appointed by the Governor-General after consultation with the Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition. The appointed Chairman and members will serve for five years.
According to the Police (Civilian Oversight) Authority Act of 2005, its main functions are to:
Monitor the implementation of policy relating to the Force and the Auxiliaries.
Monitor the standard of performance of the Force and the Auxiliaries, so as to ensure that internationally accepted standards of policing are maintained, and to report thereon.
Conduct inspections of the Force and the Auxiliaries.
Monitor the management and use of the financial and other resources of the Force and the Auxiliaries.
Perform such other functions as may be necessary for promoting the efficiency of the Force and the Auxiliaries.

Skip to content