JIS News

Constable Donohue Crossman of the Kingston Eastern Police Division is the 2009 LASCO/Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) Police Officer of the Year (POY).
The top cop was chosen from nine national finalists after an extensive competition, which culminated with an awards ceremony held at the Hilton Kingston Hotel Wednesday (October 28).
Constable Crossman, who has been a member of the JCF for the past six years, walked away with the top prize of $200,000 and the LASCO/JCF POY Champion Trophy.
Expressing his delight at the win, the 24-year old said he had worked hard to achieve this feat. As he fought to hold back tears, the Constable dedicated the award to his mother Norma Crossman, whom he lost nine years ago. He also thanked all who supported him throughout the competition.
Second place went to Corporal Marcus Bennett, who is assigned to the Operations Portfolio. He received $100,000 and the LASCO/JCF Runner-up Trophy. Sergeant Fitzgerald Gayle, who is attached to the Services Branch, placed third, and got $50,000 and the LASCO/JCF Second Runner-up Trophy.
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the LASCO Group of Companies, Mr. Lascelles Chin, said the 10-year awards programme, serves to affirm that there are good members of the police force “who are trendsetters in the security of our nation.”
He informed that his company spends in excess of $4 million on the programme every year. “I think as a business, we need to give back something to Jamaica and this is our (way) of giving to Jamaica…We are proud of the policemen and women, who give dedicated service in serving and protecting our people,” Mr. Chin stated.
Minister of National Security, Senator Hon. Dwight Nelson, commended the members of the JCF, who have demonstrated the goodwill and the level of competence that makes them eligible to be considered as the Police Officer of the Year. He also thanked Mr. Chin and the principals of the LASCO Group of Companies for having established the awards programme in recognition of the exemplary members of the JCF.

Minister of National Security, Senator Hon. Dwight Nelson (right) congratulates Constable Donohue Crossman (centre) of the East Kingston Police Division, who was named the 2009 LACSO/Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) Police Officer of the Year (POY). The awards ceremony was held yesterday (Oct. 28) at the Hilton Kingston Hotel. Sharing the moment is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the LASCO Group of Companies, Lascelles Chin.

“It goes without saying that the vast majority of the members of the constabulary force are well-thinking professional officers, who carry out their duties and execute their responsibilities with the highest level of professionalism, integrity, and dedication,” Mr. Nelson said.
Police Commissioner, Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin, also commended Mr. Chin for continuing this programme, which he noted is an “important calendar event in the JCF.”
Senior Lecturer at the University of the West Indies (UWI) and a member of the programme’s selection committee, Dr. Orville Taylor, informed that the nine national finalists were narrowed down from more than 100 nominees, and 36 divisional winners, and that unlike previous years, no females made it to the finals.
He noted that it was a very difficult process to select the winners, as all of the candidates were very impressive. “The entire process re-affirmed…my own faith and conviction that there are very good members in the constabulary (and) on the basis of that representative sample, I can scientifically declare that the majority of the members of the JCF are high quality, hardworking, and honest persons,” Dr. Taylor said.
The LASCO/JCF Police Officer of the Year Awards identifies and rewards members of the JCF, who exhibit excellence in policing and community development.
They can be nominated by their superior, colleague, or any Jamaican citizen. The entrants are judged at the divisional, area and national levels, and are required to take part in several activities, which this year, included visiting the St. Catherine Infirmary and the Rio Cobre Juvenile Correctional Centre in St. Catherine, where they interacted with the wards and made donations.
Some of the criteria used for judging are: display of exemplary work ethic and conduct; sound awareness of current and international affairs; involvement in developmental projects at the community and national levels; demonstration of proven leadership skills in policing and in community activities; having respect for colleagues and the wider society; and professionalism in policing.
During the awards ceremony, Area winners were presented with plaques as well as other prizes, and the Divisional winners were given certificates and gift baskets.
In addition to the POY Award, LASCO recognises outstanding teachers, principals and nurses, every year.

Skip to content