JIS News

Property owners are reminded that they have until June 30 to pay their property tax for the 2010 – 2011 period, to avoid a 10% penalty being applied for late payment.
In May, the Tax Administration had announced an extension of the period for persons to pay their property tax for the current year, failing which, a 10% penalty will be automatically applied by the administration’s computer system, effective July 1.
Persons are also reminded that they still have the option to make property tax payments in halfyearly instalments on April 1 and October 1 or in quarterly instalments April 1, July 1, October 1, and January 1. Any property tax paid in full or first instalment made after the extended June 30 date will attract the 10% penalty.
Property Tax payments may be made via the Tax Administration’s Tax Portal at www.jamaicatax-online.gov.jm. The online payment facility offers a very convenient option as it gives access to persons both locally and overseas on a 24 hour basis. Online users need to have the valuation number(s) of the property(s) and a valid major credit card.
Alternately, payments may be made at any of the 29 tax offices located across the island. It should be noted that the major offices are equipped with electronic drop boxes which may be used to make cheque payments, instead of joining the cashier line. Persons may also pay their property tax on Saturdays between the hours of 10:00am to 4:00pm at the Portmore Tax Office.
Property owners in arrears for previous years are also urged to pay their outstanding amounts.
For more information local callers may contact the Tax Administration Customer Care Centre toll-free at 1-888-TAX-HELP (1-888-829-4357), while persons calling from the United States may call 1-888-GO-JATAX (1-888-46-52829); Persons may also email taxhelp@tasd.gov.jm or visit www.jamaicatax.gov.jm for further details.

Skip to content