JIS News

Thirty-five stalwarts will receive the Prime Minister’s Medal of Appreciation for their service to education, at a ceremony to be held at the National Arena on June 11, beginning at 7:00 p.m.
Governor-General, the Most Hon. Professor Sir Kenneth Hall and Lady Hall will head the list of dignitaries, who will include Prime Minister Bruce Golding and Mrs. Golding. The Prime Minister will deliver the main address.
The ceremony will salute teachers and educators who have given between 20 and 56 years of service to the nation’s education system – from early childhood to tertiary and administrative levels.
The Prime Minister’s Medal of Appreciation for Service to Education is awarded to members of the education fraternity who have given a minimum 15 years of outstanding service to education in Jamaica, and who have distinguished themselves through their service and involvement in community life.
Since its inception in 2005, some 138 teachers and educators have been awarded for outstanding and exemplary service.
The Jamaica Regiment Band, under the baton of WO1 James Norman; the JCDC Gold Medal winning Jessie Ripoll Dance Group; the Willowdene Children’s Choir and the 2008 Children’s Gospel competition winner, Chadique Young will provide entertainment. Veteran broadcaster, Tony Patel will guide attendees through the event and closing remarks will be given by Ena Barclay, President of the Jamaica Teachers’ Association (JTA). Guests are to be seated by 6:30 p.m.

Skip to content