JIS News

Members of the Jamaican Diaspora residing in the midwest region of the United States (US) have been urged to make every effort to attend the upcoming Diaspora Conference in Montego Bay from June 16-19.

Addressing nationals at a town hall meeting at the Redeemer Covenant Church in the city of Minneapolis on Thursday, May 9, Jamaica’s Ambassador to the United States, His Excellency Stephen Vasciannie, said that the conference will give participants an opportunity to hear firsthand, how the Government is dealing with a number of issues.

Among the focus areas are investments, national security, healthcare, education, and job creation.

Ambassador Vascianne noted that the conference, which will be held under the theme: ‘A Nation on a Mission: Jamaica Diaspora Partnership for Development’, will feature, among other things, an exposition where exhibitors will present business and investment opportunities.

Some of the major projects that will be on display are: the Global Logistics Hub Initiative, Agro Parks, development of downtown Kingston, Information Communication Technology (ICT) parks, and the development of micro, small and medium-sized (MSME) enterprises. There will also be the unveiling of the Draft Diaspora Policy Document.

Ambassador Vasciannie was on a three-day visit to Minneapolis at the invitation of the Organization of Strategic Development in Jamaica (OSDJ).

He updated nationals on various developments in the island, and held talks with representatives of the various health institutions, including the Minneapolis Hospital for Children, Gillette Children’s Specialty Health Care, and Hennepin County Medical Centre.

He also met with the Dean of the University of the Minnesota Law School, David Wippman, and other faculty members.

OSDJ is a non-profit body, dedicated to contributing to the effort to improve healthcare delivery in Jamaica.

The US midwest consists of 12 states in the north-central and north-eastern United States. These are Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Contact: Derrick Scott