JIS News

The time given to the Joint Select Committee of Parliament to consider the Protected Disclosure Bill, commonly known as the Whistleblower legislation, has been extended to the end of September, 2010.
This was disclosed in the Senate, on July 16, by Minister of Justice and Leader of Government Business in the Senate, Hon. Dorothy Lightbourne.
“The committee has been very robust. It has held four meetings and there has been quite a lot of interest by persons wishing to appear before the committee to make submissions and presentations. So, the committee would need some more time to complete its deliberations,” Senator Lightbourne said.
Originally, deliberations on the Act by the committee should have been completed by Thursday, July 15.
The Joint Select Committee is comprised of Senators Lightbourne, Dwight Nelson, Arthur Williams, Warren Newby, Camina Johnson Smith, K.D. Knight, Navel Clarke and A.J. Nicholson. The others are House members, Daryl Vaz, Michael Stern, Gregory Mair, Clive Mullings, Phillip Paulwell, Peter Bunting and Dr. Morais Guy.
The legislation is part of an overall initiative by the Government to eradicate corruption, promote accountability and transparency, and reduce opportunities for improper conduct in the workplace.

Skip to content