JIS News

Prime Minister Ingraham takes over from the Prime Minister of Barbados the Rt Honourable Owen Arthur who served as Chairman from 1 July 2007 to 31 December 2007. Prime Ministers Ingraham and Arthur will continue serving on the Bureau of the Conference of Heads of Government along with the incoming Chairman, the Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda, the Honourable Baldwin Spencer and the Secretary-General of CARICOM, His Excellency Edwin Carrington.
Prime Minister Spencer replaces the Prime Minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines, Dr the Honourable Ralph Gonsalves who served on the Bureau from 1 July 2006 to 30 December 2007.
The Bureau comprises, the Chairman, the immediate past Chairman, the incoming Chairman and the Secretary-General. It was established in 1992 to initiate proposals for development and approval by the Ministerial Councils as it considers necessary, update consensus among Member States on issues to be determined by the Conference, facilitate implementation of Community decisions at the regional and local levels in an expeditious and informed manner and provide guidance to the CARICOM Secretariat on policy issues.
The Bahamas will be the host of the 19th Inter-Sessional Meeting of the Conference to be held on 7-8 March 2008.

Skip to content