JIS News

Cabinet has approved the appointment of several persons to chair the boards of state agencies. This was disclosed by Information, Culture, Youth and Sports Minister, Olivia Grange, at the weekly post-Cabinet press briefing on (Nov. 27) at Jamaica House.
Governor of the Bank of Jamaica (BoJ), Derrick Latibeaudiere, has been appointed as the chairman of the BoJ Board. The Public Accountancy Board will be chaired by Chartered Accountant, Eric Crawford, while Businessman, Al Webb, will chair the Jamaica Deposit Insurance Corporation (JDIC) board.
Justice Clarence Walter has been appointed as the chairman of the Firearm Licensing Authority Review Board and Errol Strong will head the board of the Firearm Licensing Authority.
Turning to agencies in the agricultural sector, Miss Grange said that Tony Hart will chair the Coconut Industry Board; the Cocoa Industry Board will be headed by Roger Turner; while David Lowe will chair the Agricultural Development Corporation.
Cabinet also approved the appointment of three boards that fall under the Ministry of Industry, Investment and Commerce.
Dr. Artnell Henry has been appointed as chairman of the Bureau of Standards. Robert Ramsay will head the board of the Jamaica Intellectual Property Office; Dr. Derrick McKoy will head the Fair Trading Commission board; while the board of the Scientific Research Council will be chaired by James Moss-Solomon.

Skip to content