JIS News

Plans are far advanced for the establishment of a Portmore Chamber of Commerce and Industry in January next year, which will be charged with regulating, promoting and protecting business interests within the new municipality. On September 24, a Portmore Private Sector Steering Committee comprised of business leaders from the Portmore Municipality was formed to establish the organisation. The Committee has since held weekly meetings to work out the details for the setting up of the body.
Ransford White, Chairman of the Steering Committee, told JIS News that the mission statement has been completed, so too the Chamber’s structure, aims and objectives, logo and format for a letterhead. He said that application forms have been completed and sent out to prospective members.
Additionally, he informed, the committee had secured the services of an attorney- at- law to prepare a Memorandum and Articles of Association as well as rules to govern the organisation.
“We are hoping that by the end of November, we would have elected our officers,” he said, noting that only registered businesses would be eligible to apply for membership.
He informed that officers from the Registrar of Companies would be addressing the next general meeting of the Portmore Business Sector on November 25 at the Lion’s Civic Centre and advised that operators wishing to regularise their businesses should attend this meeting.
Mr. White said that seven committees would be established within the new Chamber. These, he said, are Small Business; Development, Industry and Economy; Environment and Beautification, Toursim, Spiritual Values; Fund raising and Event Planning; Finance, Legal and Corporate Planning, Education, Membership and Retention of members; Health, Sports, Games; and Public Relations and Security.
He explained that each committee would have an elected chairman and secretary. The President of the Chamber will oversee the security committee, while the two vice-presidents will oversee three committees of their choice.
According to Mr. White, the organisation will have five directors, a president, two vice presidents, a secretary and a treasurer.
Members of the steering committee are Ransford White, Norman Walker, Nicholas Azan, Noel Brown, Archibald McCalla, Dr. Dane Levy, Patricia Campbell, Donna Walsh, Leroy Cooke, Millicent Lynch and Doreen Holness.

Skip to content