JIS News

The Friends of Port Maria Association, New York (NY) chapter, has provided financial assistance to the Port Maria Primary School, in St. Mary, valued at approximately US$45,000 (J$4 million), over the last 13 years.
This was disclosed by the President of the Friends of Port Maria, NY chapter, Ms. Lorna Fairweather, as she outlined the organisation’s achievements at its 13th annual dinner and dance, held at the JFK Holiday Inn Hotel in Queens, New York, on December 12.
She pointed out that the assistance provided to the school included the construction of a wall around the school, the provision of three 1,000-gallon water tanks, the purchase of 10 computers, as well as assistance with the construction of a computer laboratory for the students. Ms. Fairweather added that the association plans to purchase an additional 15 computers to give more students access to the world of technology.
Ms. Fairweather emphasised that the organisation is dedicated to the development of Port Maria and the surrounding areas, as well as to improve the lives of the residents. “Our focus is two-fold – to get others to help in the development of the town; and to address some immediate needs of the students of the Port Maria Primary school,” she noted.

Mr. and Mrs. Milton Crooks (left), accepts the Educational Award on behalf of their daughter, Ms. Shushana Crooks, from Treasurer of the Friends of Port Maria Association, New York chapter, Ms. Angela Cummings, at the 13th annual dinner and dance of the chapter, at the JFK Holiday Inn, Queens, New York, on December 12.

Several awards were presented by the association, including the Educational Award, which was given to Ms Shushana Crooks, a student at the Kansas State University, where she is majoring in Elementary Education, with a minor in Leadership studies. Ms. Patricia Wright was honoured for her unwavering support to the organisation.
Seven students from the Port Maria Primary school who participated in the annual poetry competition also received awards. They are: Torrike Whittaker, Toni-Ann Townsend, Dewanya Smikle, Roneil Henry, Caisey-Ann Cunningham, Delano Francis and Dominique Sinclair.
Among those in attendance were Diaspora Board representatives for the north-east United States, Mr. Patrick Beckford and Mr. Irwine Claire, and representatives from other alumni associations.

Skip to content