JIS News

Prime Minister, the Most Hon. Portia Simpson Miller, heads the list of 12 persons and organizations honoured by the National Road Safety Council (NRSC) for outstanding service to the organization over the past 20 years.

The awardees, inclusive of three former Prime Ministers, were presented with special plaques during the NRSC’s 20th Anniversary Banquet, held at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, New Kingston, on April 18.

The former Prime Ministers receiving awards were: the Most Hon. P.J. Patterson; Mr. Andrew Holness, the current Opposition Leader; and Mr. Bruce Golding, all of whom chaired the NRSC.

They were recognized for their contributions to advancing Jamaica’s road safety initiatives and programmes, designed to reduce traffic accidents and the resulting fatalities occurring on the nation’s roads.

Other recipients of awards included: late orthopaedic surgeon, Professor Sir John Golding, who was instrumental in establishing the NRSC, which he served as the first Vice Chairman; former Chairman of the Jamaica Association of General Insurance Companies (JAGIC), Errol Ziadie, who provided support services during the NRSC’s fledgling years; the Jamaica Bankers Association (JBA); Bank of Nova Scotia (BNS); National Health Fund (NHF); Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF); Fédération Internationale de l’Autombile (FIA); and Jamaica National Building Society (JNBS).

By Douglas McIntosh, JIS Reporter

Skip to content