JIS News

Prime Minister Bruce Golding, on Monday April 6, announced several changes to the executive arm of his 19-month old administration.
The announcement, which was made a day before the State Opening of Parliament, sees the complement of Cabinet Ministers, being reduced by two to now stand at 17, following the resignation of three members, and one promotion. The move also saw several portfolios being reassigned.
Members who have resigned are: Senator Colonel Trevor MacMillan, who had responsibility for National Security; Derrick Smith, who previously headed the Mining and Telecommunications portfolio; and Clive Mullings, who was Energy Minister.
The National Security portfolio has been reassigned to Senator Dwight Nelson, who was previously Minister without Portfolio in the Ministry of Finance and the Public Service. The remaining sets of portfolios have been divided, with Energy and Mining being assigned to former Minister without Portfolio in the Office in the Prime Minister, James Robertson, and responsibility for Telecommunications along with Information going to Daryl Vaz, who has been promoted to Minister with Without Portfolio in the Office of the Prime Minister. The Information portfolio was previously held by Olivia Grange, who retains the responsibility for Culture, Youth, and Sports.
The Agriculture portfolio, currently held by Dr. Christopher Tufton, sees a name change incorporating Fisheries, to now be known as the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

Skip to content