JIS News

Well known Jamaican athlete, Warren Weir, is among several young persons and innovative tour company, Routes and Kulcha, nominated for the Prime Minister’s Youth Award for Excellence 2012.

The winners will be unveiled at an awards ceremony scheduled to take place at Emancipation Park, Kingston, on Sunday, March 24, under the theme: ‘Youth on a Mission…Project 2062’. It is scheduled to begin at 4:00 p.m. and is open to the public.

The award is a prestigious honour bestowed on youth between 15 and 24 years who have excelled in the following areas: agriculture, arts and culture, academics, entrepreneurship, leadership, international achievement, journalism, sports and youth in service.

Other nominees are: Petreen Matthews and Andrew Khan in the category of entrepreneurship; Simon Preston and Basillia Barnaby in the category of journalism; Jean Pierre Campbell in the category of Agriculture; Chantelle Biersay and Romain Virgo in the category of Arts and Culture; Kenneth Gordon, Darren Miller, Rashid Hall and Randy Goldson in the category of Leadership; Timar Jackson, Nicholas Wright, Kimani Kitson Walters and Trojean Burrell in the category of Academics; Jordon Bennett, Nekeisha Lewis, Oneil Clarke, Caldon Shirley and Sean Harvey in the category of Youth in Service; Shevaughn Whyte, Devoy Raymond, Kimroy Bailey, Routes and Kulcha (group) in the category of International Achievement; and Sasha Gay Lynch, Patricia McCalla and Alvas Powell in the category of Sports.

Producer of the Prime Minister’s Youth Award Youth in Concert, Gregory Simms, said the event is being staged under the auspices of the Prime Minister.

“It is her awards function and she recognizes the hard work that young people have been doing under tough circumstances to produce excellence all the time,” he said.

The ceremony is being organized by the Jamaica Cultural Development Commission (JCDC), in collaboration with the Ministry of Youth and Culture.

Skip to content