JIS News

KINGSTON — Minister with Responsibility for Information, Telecommunications and Special Projects, Hon. Daryl Vaz, has indicated that Solicitor General, Douglas Leys, will continue to advise the Government until a new Attorney General is appointed.

Prime Minister, the Hon. Bruce Golding, in naming a new Cabinet yesterday June 28, said the position of Attorney-General will be separated from that of Minister of Justice, in keeping with the recommendations of the recently concluded Commission of Enquiry.

Minister Vaz, speaking at today’s June 29 post-Cabinet press briefing at Jamaica House, said the appointment of Attorney General “is something that we are moving swiftly to deal with but it does need a level of consultation in terms of making sure that the person that is selected is actually the best suited person…without any political bias or affiliation”.

House Speaker, Hon. Delroy Chuck, is to be sworn in as the new Minister of Justice at King’s House today June 29, along with other newly appointed Ministers including:  Hon. Dr. Christopher Tufton – Minister of Industry, Investment and Commerce; Hon. Robert Montague, Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries; and  Clive Mullings, Minister of Energy and Mining.     

Meanwhile, Hon. Arthur Williams will take up the post of Minister without Portfolio in the Cabinet Office with responsibility for the Public Service, while Shahine Robinson, in addition to her current duties, will assume the Local Government portfolio.   

The Prime Minister has also announced the appointment of the following State Ministers: Dr. St. Aubyn Bartlett, Ministry of National Security; Gregory Mair, Ministry of Education; and Othniel Lawrence, Ministry of Transport and Works.



Skip to content