Get the Fact
Stock Image

The Conference of Heads of Government also known as the Conference is one of the most important arms of CARICOM. It was established in 1973 and is made up of the Heads of Government from the CARICOM’S 15 Member States.

The first meeting held on July 15-18, 1974 in Castries, St. Lucia was chaired by Premier Hon. John Compton. It is customary for the sitting chairperson to host the meeting.

The members meet at least twice per year and the Chairmanship is rotated every six months.

The main objective of the Conference is to:

• Guide and direct policies of CARICOM
• Facilitate relationship between member states and the international community
• Facilitates the conclusion of treaties on behalf of the community

This year, CARICOM’s 39th Regular Meeting of the Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community will be held 4th -6th July, 2018 in Montego Bay, St. James and will be chaired by Prime Minister of Jamaica, the Most Honourable Andrew Holness, ON, MP.

For additional information contact CARICOM’s website at

Skip to content