JIS News

The Government is moving ahead with plans to establish town centres across the island, and has selected St. Catherine as the pilot parish for such developments.

Minister of State in the Ministry of Local Government and Community Development, Hon. Colin Fagan, informed that the towns of Linstead and Old Harbour will serve as the two urban centres.

Making his contribution to the 2013/14 Sectoral Debate in the House of Representatives on June 25, Mr. Fagan said the town centres will be operational by November this year.

He noted that the creation of town centres is part of the Government’s plans to provide citizens and communities with increased ability and space within which to participate in the management of their affairs.

Under the project, job descriptions for Town Managers have been created and Mayors and Councillors in the parish of St. Catherine have been engaged and informed of their responsibilities.

Mr. Fagan said discussions with stakeholders in Ocho Rios, St. Ann, and Santa Cruz and Junction, St. Elizabeth will also commence shortly, with plans for those areas to be transformed into urban centres.

“Sensitisation and mobilisation at the community and Local Authority levels are advancing through the Social Development Commission (SDC),” he stated.

He said the SDC will continue to be the critical enablers for participation and consensus with respect to civil society organisations and their response and relationship with the management of town centres.

Contact: Athaliah Reynolds-Baker

Skip to content