JIS News

Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, Hon. Dr. Christopher Tufton, has announced that workers employed by the five Government-owned sugar factories will receive redundancy payments starting Tuesday (June 16).
Dr. Tufton made the announcement at a meeting this morning with representatives of the trade unions representing employees of the Sugar Company of Jamaica(SCJ), which operates the five factories -Bernard Lodge (St. Catherine), Frome, (Westmoreland), Hampden (Trelawny), Monymusk (Clarendon) and St. Thomas.
The Minister updated the unions on the progress of the current divestment exercise and advised that, consistent with the law and the entitlements of the workers, redundancy payments will be made on Tuesday, June 16.
The Ministry says that the payment is being made within the legal timeframe, following payment of notice pay on December 19, 2008. It is expected to cost some $2.7 billion in total.
The Minister also expressed his appreciation to the unions for their “responsible behaviour and patience” since the divestment process started.

Skip to content