JIS News

Eight persons and a church group in St. Ann were honoured on National Heroes Day (October 20), by the St. Ann Civic Affairs and Community Relations Committee, for their contribution to community development and nation building.
Among them was 116 year-old Ida Stewart, resident of the community of Devon, near Brown’s Town, who was saluted as the oldest known resident in the parish.
The others, Hilda Williams-Jones, Dionne Brown, Angeline Simon-Minto, David Gallimore, Hank Roberts, Devon Evans, and the Discovery Bay Church of God Women’s Group, were awarded for outstanding public service, academic excellence, community policing, spiritual development and upliftment, journalism and early childhood education, and volunteerism.
They were recognized at a civic function organized by the Committee, as part of Heroes Day celebrations, at Lawrence Park, St. Ann’s Bay.
Guest speaker, Angella Patterson, Group Corporate Communications Executive at Jamaica National Building Society (JNBS), urged young persons to take note of the positive values and attitudes displayed by the recipients, adding that they could be useful in helping them to better themselves and others.
She said that as the nation sought to build itself, it was important that each Jamaican “galvanize even one other person to do something positive, and take responsibility for his or her own actions”.
The citations, read by Dorothy Salmon, former Committee Chairman, described the awardees as humble, honest, disciplined, committed, caring, virtuous, outstanding and influential persons, “who have left indelible footprints on the sands of time”.
Principals, Vice-principals and students of St. Hilda’s High, Ferncourt High, Marcus Garvey Technical High, Bown’s Town Primary, St. Ann’s Bay Primary, Ocho Rios Primary, and Columbus Preparatory Schools, saluted the recipients with the reading of citations as well as with flowers.
Also taking part in the ceremony were R.O. Walters, Custos of the parish; Shahine Robinson, Member of Parliament for the area; Delroy Giscombe, Mayor of St. Ann’s Bay; Rev. Karen Kirlew, Pastor of the St. Ann’s Bay Baptist Church; Leslie Robinson, member of the Committee; and students from the Mt. Waddy All-age School.

Skip to content