JIS News

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Hon. Kenneth Baugh is today participating in the 33rd meeting of the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG) in London.
The CMAG was established at the 1995 Commonwealth Heads of Government in Auckland, New Zealand with the mandate to assess the nature of any infringement to the political fundamental values of the Commonwealth and recommend measures of collective action aimed at the speedy resolution of democracy and constitutional rule.
Jamaica and the Foreign Ministers of eight other countries are members of CMAG. They are Australia, Bangladesh, Ghana, Maldives, Namibia, New Zealand, Trinidad and Tobago and Vanuatu.
Two of the key agenda items down for discussion are strengthening the role of the CMAG and the developments in the Fiji Islands. Fiji was fully suspended from the Commonwealth on September 1, 2009 after Commodore Frank Bainimarama who had seized power in 2006 coup, failed to fulfill his commitment to rejoining negotiations with the opposition and holding credible elections in October 2010.

Skip to content