JIS News

KINGSTON — The Ministry of Finance and the Public Service announced on Wednesday August 10 that a Parliamentary Tax Committee, established in July, will begin reviewing Government's Tax Reform proposals in September.

The Ministry said that, delivering on a promise that the process will be all-inclusive and comprehensive the Government will call on all stakeholders, including business and professional organizations, civic bodies, trade unions, academics, workers and the general public to submit, in writing, comments and suggestions on the Tax Reform Green Paper.

The nine (9) member committee, chaired by the Minister of Finance and the Public Service, the Hon Audley Shaw, includes: Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, Hon. Robert Montague; Minister of Tourism, Hon. Edmund Bartlett; Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Hon. Dr. Ken Baugh; Minister of Industry, Investment and Commerce, Hon. Dr. Christopher Tufton; Member of Parliament for East Central St. Andrew, Dr. Peter Phillips; Member of Parliament for South St. Andrew, Dr. Omar Davies; Member of Parliament for South St. Catherine, Fitz Jackson, and Member of Parliament for Eastern St. Andrew, Anthony Hylton.

Persons wishing to participate should submit comments and suggestions to: The Chairman,

The Parliamentary Tax Committee, Houses of Parliament, Gordon House, 81 Duke Street, Kingston.

The Green Paper, tabled in May, is aimed at ensuring that the system is simple and efficient, provides equity and fairness, stimulates economic growth and yield adequate revenue.

 At the end of the consultations, the Government hopes the feedback will result in a final policy position (White Paper) slated for presentation in 2012.


By Balford Henry, JIS Reporter & Editor

Skip to content