Caribbean Business Club to Pay Tribute to 1975 and 1979 West Indies CWC Teams

Caribbean Business Club will be putting on a ‘Toast to Cricket’ event on March 12 at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, to pay tribute to members of the 1975 and 1979 West Indies ICC Cricket World Cup (CWC) Championship teams.
The event will be held under the distinguished patronage of Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller.
According to Lesley-Ann Thompson, Marketing and Communications Specialist with Jamaica Trade and Invest, formerly JAMPRO, the event would recognize the achievements of that memorable period in West Indian history.
“It was a major accomplishment back then and it set the tone for us [West Indies] being able to host the Cricket World Cup in the region. It is also a perfect vehicle for us to reach an audience, that we would not have necessarily been able to speak to directly, while they are here,” she told JIS News.
Miss Thompson also said that the event would cater to 450 persons. Among those confirmed are 13 members of the famous squad, including captain, Clive Lloyd and Antiguan National Hero, Sir Vivian Richards.
The family of deceased members of the squads, VIPs and the international press are also invited. “It will be definitely a time to enjoy,” she noted, adding that the cost was $10,000 per ticket.
“There is also special pricing for corporate tables and it is 10 settings per table,” she added.
Miss Thompson pointed out that Ambassador Courtney Walsh would be on hand to distribute awards to the players. There will also be an auction of autographed memorabilia, such as bats.
“Tony Cozier, who was voted most enjoyed West Indian cricket commentator, will give a tribute to cricket then and now and we will have vignettes showing profiles of past players and past games,” she noted.
As for entertainment, she said that there would be a live band in the form of Peter Ashbourne and Friends.Cocktails begin at 7:00 p.m. and the award segment of the programme commences at 8:00 p.m.
In the meantime, the West Indies Cricket Board and the ICC CWC West Indies 2007 Inc., will honour the 1975 and 1979 Championship squads during the opening match of the tournament on March 13 between Pakistan and the West Indies at Sabina Park. They will also be presented with various memorabilia to mark the occasion.
The 1975 West Indies cricket squad included, R.C. Fredericks (deceased), Gordon Greenidge, Alvin Kallicharran, Sir Vivian Richards, Clive Lloyd, Deryck Murray, Maurice Foster, Lance Gibbs, Bernard Julien, K.D. Boyce (deceased), Vanburn Holder, Collis King, Andy Roberts and Rohan Kanhai. Sir Clive Walcott (deceased) was team manager and coach for both teams.
The 1979 team included, Malcolm Marshall (deceased), Joel Garner, Clive Lloyd, Andy Roberts, Colin Croft, Collis King, Faoud Bacchus, Sir Vivian Richards, Deryck Murray, Alvin Kallicharran, Gordon Greenidge, Michael Holding, Larry Gomes and Desmond Haynes.

JIS Social