JIS News

Cabinet has approved the appointment of Heather Pinnock, Chief Technical Director in the Ministry of Water and Housing, to the Board of Directors of the Housing Agency of Jamaica, which replaces the National Housing Development Corporation.
The other Board members are: David Chung (Chairman); Christopher Stone; Norman Brown; Conrad Pitkin; Emory Woodstock; George Patrick Corrodus; Wayne Ebanks; Genefa Hibbert; Sylvester Tulloch; Robert Lawrence; Michelle Boorasingh; Collin Innis; Sonia McFarlane; and Peter Champaignie.
“The fact that the NHDC is being repositioned…with the name change, it is the view of the Ministry that these individuals would be able to follow through on the mandate in the implementation of low income housing solutions,” Minister of Information, Culture, Youth and Sports, Olivia Grange told journalists at the weekly post-Cabinet press briefing held on November 13 at Jamaica House.
Cabinet also approved the appointment of the Board of Directors of the Port Royal Brotherhood, for a period of two years, effective June 2008, with Autherine Scarlett as Chairman.
Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Information, Faith Innerarity explained that since Hurricane Charlie in 1951, which devastated Port Royal, the Government has sought to rebuild the town by establishing the Brotherhood Act of 1952. “The membership comprises all those persons whose lands were vested in the brotherhood under the Act; all persons, who have applied for and have been allotted ordinary shares in the capital of the brotherhood; all persons to whom shares have been transferred with the written permission of the Board,” she informed.

Skip to content