JIS News

Cabinet has approved an 11-member Advisory Board for the Jamaica Information Service (JIS).
Their appointment took effect from June 2, and they will serve for a period of two years.
Speaking at a post-Cabinet press briefing, held at the Office of the Prime Minister on June 11, Minister of Information, Culture, Youth and Sports, Olivia Grange, pointed out that Neville James will chair the Board, while Ken Chaplin will serve as Deputy Chairman.
Other members are: Permanent Secretary in the Information Ministry, Faith Innerarity, Delano Seiveright, Marcia Forbes, Troy Caine, Don Bryce, Jean Lewis, Tamara Scott-Williams, Frances Mais and Basil Naar.
The Minister said that the Advisory Board was “a very good mix of public and private sector persons, which include journalists and business persons.”
The Advisory Board will support the work of the agency by advising the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) in the strategic and business planning responsibilities of the JIS Executive Agency.
The mandate of the JIS is to promote Government’s programmes, policies and institutions.

Skip to content