JIS News

Cabinet has approved the addition of two new persons to the Board of Directors of the Jamaica Anti-doping Commission, to increase the membership to 15.
Speaking at Wednesday’s (Oct. 15) post-Cabinet briefing at Jamaica House, Information, Culture, Youth, and Sports Minister, Olivia Grange, advised that Jamaica Cricket Association (JCA) Vice President, Paul Campbell, and North American, Central American, and Caribbean Athletics Association (NACAC) President, Neville “Teddy” McCook, have been added to the Board.
The other members are: University of Technology President, Professor Errol Morrison, (Chairman); Director of Emergency, Disaster Management, and Special Services in the Ministry of Health and Environment, Dr. Marion Bullock-DuCasse; International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Anti-doping Commission member, Dr. Herb Elliot; Jamaica Olympic Association (JOA) President, Michael Fennel; Jamaica Amateur Athletics Association (JAAA) President, Howard Aris; Jamaica Bobsleigh Federation President, Chris Stokes; Spanish Town Mayor, Dr. Andrew Wheatley; International Federation of Netball Associations (IFNA) President, Molly Rhone; along with Alveeta Knight; Joan Brown; and Vilma McDonald.
Permanent Secretary in the Sports Ministry, Faith Innerarity, and head of the Anti-doping Commission, Dr. Patrice Charles-Freeman, who will serve as the ex-officio members, complete the Board’s complement, which Ms. Grange advised, will serve for three years.
The Commission, which was created, consequent on the passage of the Anti-Doping in Sport Act of 2008, in both Houses of Parliament in July, has responsibility for the establishment of a database for the registered testing pool for all Jamaican athletes, and for notifying them and the relevant national sporting organizations, of entries made to the register. The body is also required to test athletes and give notification of results, in keeping with bilateral or multilateral agreements.