JIS News

Six Bills that have been tabled in the House of Representatives by Prime Minister Bruce Golding, to strengthen anti-crime initiatives, have been referred to a Joint Select Committee of Parliament, for review.
Deputy Leader of Government Business in the House, Andrew Gallimore, yesterday (September 9), informed that House members on the Committee would be: Pearnel Charles, Laurie Broderick, Daryl Vaz, Dr. St. Aubyn Bartlett, Fitz Jackson, Sharon Hay-Webster, and Dr. Peter Phillips.
He pointed out that members from the Senate are expected to be named on Friday, September 12.
Mr. Gallimore said that given the importance of the Bills, the Committee is scheduled to meet on September 16, 23, 24, and 30, and a report is to be made to the House, to facilitate a debate on October 7 and 8.
The Bills are: An Act to make interim provision, in relation to the grant of bail in specified circumstances, for accused persons to be detained for up to 60 days on certain charges; An Act to further amend the Firearms Act, to provide for a minimum sentence of 15 years for certain convictions; An Act to make interim provision, extending the powers of arrest and detention under Sections 50B and 50F of the Constabulary Force Act; An Act seeking to amend the Bail Act to require the accused to satisfy the court that bail should be granted, and conferring on the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), the right of appeal where bail is granted by the court; An Act to amend the Parole Act, to allow for persons sentenced to 15 years to life for specified firearms offences, to be denied parole before completing 10 years; and an Act to amend the Offences Against the Person Act, to provide for a minimum custodial sentence of 15 years for persons convicted in the Circuit Court of shooting or wounding.