JIS News

Forty young people and two youth teams have been nominated for the Prime Minister's Youth Awards for Excellence.

The award ceremony, previously scheduled for December 5, will take place on Sunday, January 23 on the lawns of Jamaica House beginning at 5:30 p.m.

The nominees are: Midhun Thomas, Rene Gayle, Alyssa Morgan, Nicola Gaye Maxwell, Jermaine Case, Javian Malcolm, and Nakeeta Nembhard in the category of Academics; Nicholas Powell for Agriculture; Omaro Mazlyn, Laura-Anne Fung, Rayon McLean, Jarvis Dawkins, and Troy Rogers for Arts and Culture; Edward-Marshall Case and Tyrone Wilson for Entrepreneurship; and Valdimir Wallace, Aubrey Stewart, Jamar Howell, Kevin Brown, Sean Davis, and Noel Grant for Leadership.

Benton McTaggart has been nominated for excellence in Journalism; Clive Pullen, Stephanie Taylor, Shanel Daley, Sasha Gay Marston, Yohan Blake, Samardo Samuels and Odean Skeen for Sports; Dei-rasi Freckleton, Craig Dixon, Ruth Lawrence, Ashaney James, Victoria Melhado, Sean Harvey, Lacey-Ann Bartley, Kenisha Allen, Marlon Thompson, Yanique DaCosta and Shanique Austin for Youth in Service;  Shena Moulton and Team  XORMIS (Derron Brown, Markel Mair, Dwayne Samuels, Shawn Mclean); and EDUC8 (Trevor Williams, Warren Robinson, Carey McKenzie, Trecia Thompson) for International Achievement.

One organisation will also be given a special award for significant contribution to youth development.

Winners will be announced at the function, which is being hosted by Prime Minister, the Hon. Bruce Golding, who will also make presentations.

Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture, Hon. Olivia Grange; Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry, Senator Warren Newby; and Director, Youth Policy and Programme Development, National Centre for Youth Development (NCYD), Robertha Brown-Ellis, are among the many officials expected to attend and present awards.

The Prime Minister's Youth Awards for Excellence will be held under the theme: ‘Celebrating Youth and the Prime Minister’s Youth Awards’.

In a statement from the NCYD, Mrs. Brown Ellis said young persons have remained resilient despite difficult times and added that though the event will be much smaller than previous years, it will be just as effective in highlighting their achievements.

She stated that "despite the financial constraints, the NCYD and the Government of Jamaica will not fail in acknowledging the contributions made by our young people".

The Prime Minister's Youth Award is the highest honour bestowed on Jamaicans between 15 and 24 years of age, who have achieved eminent national and international distinction in the categories of Sports, Youth in Service, Arts and Culture, Academics, Agriculture, Leadership, Journalism, International Achievement and Entrepreneurship.