JIS News

Minister of Energy and Mining, Hon. James Robertson, will depart the island Wednesday (June 10) for a Meeting of Energy Ministers from the PetroCaribe member states in St. Kitts.
The meeting takes place Thursday (June 11), and the Ministers are expected to discuss matters of common interest and, in particular, areas of co-operation.
The Ministerial meeting will serve as a prelude to the 6th PetroCaribe Summit on June 12 in St. Kitts, which is expected to be attended by some 18 Heads of State from the PetroCaribe region, including Prime Minister of Jamaica, the Hon. Bruce Golding, and the President of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, His Excellency Hugo Chavez.
Under the PetroCaribe agreement, Venezuela provides oil on preferential terms to Cuba, Honduras, Guatemala, the Dominican Republic and every CARICOM nation, except Haiti, Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago. The PetroCaribe agreement was signed in June, 2005.

Skip to content