JIS News

Cabinet has approved the appointment of board directors and chairpersons for a number of agencies that fall under the Ministry of Tourism.
Tourism Minister, Edmund Bartlett, who made the announcement at the (Nov. 21) post-Cabinet press briefing at Jamaica House, said that the appointments are with immediate effect.
Carla Seaga, wife of former Prime Minister Edward Seaga, will head the board of Devon House Development Company Limited; Dr. Edward Wright, will chair Milk River Hotel and Spa; hotelier, Derrick Hamilton, Bath Fountain Hotel and Spa; while tourism consultant and university lecturer, Dr. Carlene Hayes, will chair the River Rafting Authority.
Cabinet also approved the appointment of additional persons to sit on the board of the National Housing Trust (NHT).
Information, Culture, Youth and Sports Minister, Olivia Grange said this was based on the recommendation of the board chairman, Howard Mitchell. “In his opinion, the capabilities of the board would be enhanced by the appointment of a civil engineer and an accountant. He has put forward the names of Peter Jarvis and Geoffrey Messado, whom he believes will be of great assistance to the finance and construction sub-committees,” she informed.
“Mr. Mitchell also requested consideration of the appointment of Dr. Paris Lyew-Ayee Jnr. to the board, as he believes he will enhance the planning and strategic skills of the board,” she said.
Board directors and chairpersons were also approved for the Pharmacy Council, the Municipal Service Commission, the Parish Council Services Commission and the Anti-Dumping and Subsidies Commission.

Skip to content