JIS News

A delegation from the University of Technology (UTech), headed by President Dr. Rae Davis, will begin a series of meetings today (January 19) with officials from the Ryerson University in Toronto, Canada.
The meetings will include the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between both institutions, discussions on mutual development strategies and linkages, and a framework for further partnership, particularly in the area of continuing education.
A release from UTech noted that the officials from both universities will also “explore modes of programme delivery and programmes of mutual interests, including Caribbean studies and community service, and facilitate faculty development, student exchange, sharing of library resources and strengthening of University advancement”.
Both universities share common experiences. The University of Technology was established in 1958 as the Jamaica Institute of Technology. It later became the College of Arts, Science and Technology (CAST) and was eventually granted university status in 1995.
Ryerson University began in 1948 as the Ryerson Institute of Technology. It too underwent a name change to become Ryerson Polytechnical Institute and was later granted full university status in 1993. Its continuing education sector is considered to be one of Canada’s leading provider of university-based adult education and offers 71 certificate programmes and more than 1,000 courses, seminars and workshops annually.
The visit was proposed by Jamaican-born businessman Raymond Chang, President of CI Fund Management, one of the most successful mutual fund companies in Canada. Mr. Chang is a member of the Ryerson Board of Governors and following his donation of Cdn$5 million to the university’s department of Continuing Education in 1993, the division was renamed in his honour and is now called the G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education.
Other members of UTech’s delegation are George Roper, Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs; and Dr. Jeanette Bartley, Associate Vice President. Officials from Ryerson include President, Dr. Claude Lajeunesse; and Marilynn Booth, Dean of the G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education.

Skip to content