JIS News

Twelve persons were honoured on July 26 by the St. Elizabeth Home-coming Foundation for their contribution to the parish and the country.
They included Floyd Ebanks, Reverend Weeville Gordon, Dr. Trevor Hamilton, Desmond Henry (posthumous), Oliver Jones, Crafton Miller, Doreen O’Connor, Dr. Keith Panton, Donna Parchment-Brown, Joyce Robinson, Rueben Spencer and George Watson.
At the recognition ceremony held in Santa Cruz, Chairman of the Foundation, Dr. Patrick Dallas said each year they honour persons who have done well for themselves and the country, but this year was special, because the Foundation sought to show appreciation to its founders.
“Every year at our Golden Awards Banquet we honour persons who have gone on to make significant contributions to Jamaica and the world, and having done this every year, I am very proud that this year the Foundation has looked inward and now showing recognition to its own. All of the 12 persons were the ones who took the idea and made the Foundation what it is today,” Dr. Dallas said.
Prime Minister Bruce Golding, who gave the keynote address, said the recipients were recognized for their contributions to the country and for lifting the image of St. Elizabeth.
“They are being honoured, not only because they are from St. Elizabeth. the contributions they have made go way beyond the boundaries of this parish and the nation, their contributions have also gone beyond the shores of Jamaica. They are recognized tonight for the pride that they have brought to the parish and the solid foundations that they have laid in strengthening institutions in the parish,” Mr. Golding said.
Speaking on behalf of the awardees, Mr. Miller said they were recognized for the good work that they have done. “Tonight is very exceptional for us the founders. All of us are honoured for not only doing well for ourselves, but for service to the parish and the country, and I thank everyone for recognising our work,” he said.