JIS News

Minister of Education, Andrew Holness, has announced the members of the new Board of the University Council of Jamaica (UCJ).
The new Board of the 20-year old accreditation body was convened and given its charge on June 19 at the offices of the UCJ, in Kingston. The Council’s Executive Director is Dr. Ethley London.
Board Members are: Chairman, Attorney-at-Law Dr. Lloyd Barnett; Consultant Pulmonologist/Lecturer in the Department of Medicine, at the University Hospital of the West Indies, Dr. Charlton Collie; Principal of Shortwood Teachers’ College, Elaine Foster-Allen; Executive Director of the HEART Trust/NTA, Donald Foster; Chief Investigator at the Financial Services Commission, Janice Holness; Partner at Price Waterhouse Coopers, John Lee; former Principal of the University of the West Indies, Mona Campus, Professor Elsa Leo-Rhynie; Senior Education Officer in the Tertiary Unit at the Ministry of Education, Dr. Yvonnette Marshall; President of the University of Technology, Professor Errol Morrison; President of the Mico University College, Dr. Claude Packer, and Dr. Ethley London.
Other members are: Principal of Excelsior Community College, Dahlia Repole; Managing Director of Sterling Assets Management, Charles Ross; Principal of the University of the West Indies, Mona Campus, Professor Gordon Shirley; Managing Director of Smith Warner International, Dr. David Smith; President of the Northern Caribbean University, Dr. Herbert Thompson; and Executive Director of the Mona School of Business, Professor Neville Ying.
The UCJ was established in 1987 to register tertiary institutions and accredit their programmes. Since its inception UCJ has registered 47 public and private tertiary institutions and currently monitors 138 programmes in 33 institutions, including 17 offered by eight overseas institutions.

Skip to content