JIS News

Eight Caribbean nationals and one heritage preservation institution were yesterday (Oct. 4) awarded Musgrave Medals by the Institute of Jamaica (IoJ), for distinguished contributions in the literary, scientific and artistic fields. At the award ceremony held at the Institute’s headquarters on East Street downtown Kingston, the Gold Medal was presented to renowned Barbadian poet, playwright, critic and historian, Professor Kamau Braithwaite, for his contribution in the field of literature.
Motivated by fascination with Caribbean heritage and its African roots, Mr. Brathwaite authored numerous publications, many of which examined the Caribbean identity and racial diversity. His publications include: Rights of Passage in 1967; Masks in 1968; and Islands in 1969.
Meanwhile, the 2006 Silver Musgrave medalists were Professor Eccleston Kean, for his work in Biochemistry; Franklyn McDonald for contribution in the environmental sciences, and renowned author and educator Dr. Velma Pollard, for literature. Other silver medalists were Laura Facey-Cooper, creator of the signature sculpture, ‘Redemption Song’ at Emancipation Park, for her work in sculpture; Rev. Dr. Ralph Hoyte of the United Church in Jamaica and Grand Cayman Islands for his contribution to religion and community development; and the Georgian Society of Jamaica for the preservation of Georgian architecture in the country.
The 2006 Bronze Musgrave medalists were Clarence Brodie, co-founder and managing editor of the The News for his work in journalism, and Norma Segre, foundation member of the Jamaica Library Association and Fellow of the Library Association of Great Britain and Ireland, for her contribution to library service and community development.
The Musgrave award is one of the oldest awards of its kind in the Western Hemisphere. The medals are awarded every year to West Indian nationals, who have given distinguished service in the fields of art, science and literature and is in keeping with the IoJ’s mandate to encourage excellence in these areas.
The awards are named for Sir Anthony Musgrave, who founded the IoJ in 1879, the Musgrave Medals were first awarded in 1897.

Skip to content