Table of Precedence

1. Governor-General
2. Prime Minister
3. Deputy Prime Minister
    Leader of the Opposition
4.Members of the Cabinet
President of the Senate
Speaker of the House of Representatives
5. Former Governors-General and Former Prime Ministers
6. The Chief Justice
President of the Court of Appeal
7. Ministers of State
8. President of Jamaica Council of Churches
9. Widows/Widowers of National Heroes
Widows/Widowers of Former Governors-Generals
Widows /Widowers of Former Heads of Government
10. The Attorney-General
11. The Cabinet Secretary (Head of the Civil Service)
12. The Head of the Foreign Service,
The Dean of the Diplomatic Corps
High Commissioners & Ambassadors
Head of Delegation of the European Union
Secretary-General of the International Seabed Authority
13. Members of the Privy Council
14. Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives
15. Members of the Senate
Members of the House of Representatives
16. Judges of the Court of Appeal
Judges of the Supreme Court
17. Chairman of the Public Service Commission
18. Chief of Defence Staff,
Commissioner of Police
19. Mayors and Chairmen of Parish Councils except on municipal occasions, when they take precedence immediately after the Prime Minister
20. Custodes of parishes except on formal occasions (other than municipal occasions) in their own parishes when they take precedence as representatives of The Governor General
21. Chief of State Protocol
Resident Representative/Resident Coordinator of the United
Nations Development Programme
Heads of Offices of International Organisations
Members of the Consular Corps
22. Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies
23. Chairmen of political parties having representation in Parliament
General Secretaries of political parties having representation in Parliament
24. Holders of Jamaican National Honours
  • Order of Merit
  • Order of Jamaica