JIS News

A team of 35 medical practitioners, nurses and other volunteers will arrive in Montego Bay St. James on Sunday, October 5, on their 15th annual Atlanta-Montego Bay Sister Cities Committee Health Mission.
The delegation will be led by Jamaica’s Honorary Consul to Atlanta and Chairman of the Atlanta branch of the Committee, Vin Martin, and the mission’s Medical Director, Dr. Deborah Haynes.
Members of the team will be met on arrival at the Donald Sangster International Airport, by members of the local Committee, led by its Chairman, Metty Scarlett-Jones.
According to Mr. Martin, the mission will operate from October 6 to October 9 at the St. John’s Methodist Church Hall. Much of the medical supplies to be donated to the patients will be purchased from pharmaceutical companies in Jamaica, while some were shipped in advance of the arrival of the team, Mr. Martin noted.
In a statement on the mission to Montego Bay, Atlanta’s Mayor, Shirley Franklin, congratulated the Health and Human Services Committee, for the wide recognition it has gained through the commitment of its health care professionals, who give selflessly to address the health care needs of the residents of Montego Bay.
Over the past 14 years, the mission has served 30,000 patients in St. James and neighbouring parishes. It is also estimated that during this period, approximately $35 million worth of medical supplies and services have been donated by the health committee. The visiting practitioners will be joined in Montego Bay, by members of the Montego Committee, several local physicians, nurses and scores of non-medical volunteers.
The mission is conducted under the auspices of the St. James Parish Council, and is facilitated by the St. James Health Department.
Mr. Martin commended the officers and members of St. John’s Methodist Church, for allowing them the use of the hall over the past 11 years.
The Atlanta-Montego Bay Sister Cities Committee, is one of 18 members of the Atlanta Sister Cities Commission, with Mayor Franklin as its Honorary Chair.