JIS News

Governor-General, His Excellency the Most Honourable Professor Kenneth Hall on Saturday (Oct. 28) launched the Mico Alumni Education Foundation in Toronto, Canada.
The ceremony took place at the Mico Alumni Association’s (Toronto chapter) Annual Banquet and Scholarship Awards at the West River Event Centre. The Foundation consists of the Mico Teachers’ College Alumni Education Fund, and the Mico Teachers’ College Alumni Infrastructure Fund to be managed by the Jamaica National and Victoria Mutual Building Societies.
Professor Hall said the Foundation would provide both human and financial capital for the oldest teacher training institution in the Caribbean.
He commended the Association for its vision for the future, and lauded Mico Teachers College for giving more than 170 years of distinguished leadership in education.
The College, Professor Hall said, “has equipped itself with the best qualified staff of any teacher education institution in the region.it has moved from being one of many teachers’ colleges in Jamaica to acquiring a university college affiliation with the University of the West Indies with the right to offer degrees. Through its other linkages with universities in North America, it is in the process of offering graduate degrees”.
Meanwhile, President of the Almuni Association, Reg Clarke explained that “the objective is to accumulate funds for an infrastructure account and an education account, to assist with short-term and long-term infrastructure projects and education programmes at Mico College”.
Jamaica’s Consul General to Toronto, Anne-Marie Bonner also commended Mico Teachers College as “a distinguished educational institution in Jamaica” and noted that the alumni association in Toronto “is true to the tradition of its alma mater in ascribing importance to education”.
Awards were presented to seven students who are enrolled in the Faculty of Education at the University of Toronto and York University, are of Jamaican heritage and have made a commitment to teach in inner-city schools.
They are Danielle Blair, Marcia Clarke, Dyona Johnson and Courtney Phillips, students at the University of Toronto; and Adella Allen, Natalie McPherson, and Shauneille Pixley, students at York University.

Skip to content