Pharmacy Council of Jamaica

The Pharmacy Council of Jamaica was established in August 1975 by the Ministry of Health with responsibilities for the regulation of pharmacists, pharmaceutical students, pharmacy owners and authorized sellers of poisons in accordance with The Pharmacy Act (1966).   The Council maintains the registers for all the aforesaid persons and sets standards for pharmacists’ education, scopes of practice and conduct.

The Council consists of ten members, six elected by the professional body, the Pharmaceutical Society of Jamaica and four including the chairman, appointed by The Minister of Health.

The Council appoints and employs a Registrar who performs the duties of Secretary to the Council as well as Inspectors and other officers for the proper carrying out of the provisions of the Pharmacy Act.

Skip to content