JIS News

Persons scheduled to receive coronavirus (COVID-19) vaccinations will be permitted to go to the designated centres with proof of their appointment, during the expanded curfew hours commencing this weekend.

This was announced by Prime Minister, the Most Hon. Andrew Holness, during a COVID-19 digital briefing on Sunday (March 21).

The expanded hours, which he announced during the briefing at the Office of the Prime Minister (OPM) Media Centre, will see the curfew commencing at midday on Saturday, March 27, continue throughout Sunday, March 28, and ending at 5:00 a.m. on Monday, March 29.

The curfew will begin at 8:00 p.m. on Holy Thursday, April 1, continue throughout Good Friday, April 2, and end on Saturday, April 3 at 5:00 a.m.

On Saturday, April 3, the curfew will begin at midday and continue throughout Easter Sunday, April 4, Easter Monday, April 5, and end at 5:00 a.m. on Tuesday, April 6. The expanded curfew will continue midday on April 10 through Sunday, April 11 and end at 5:00 a.m. on Monday, April 12. The hours will revert to the 8:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. timeline on the other days

Mr. Holness pointed out that in light of the vaccinations being “essential for our recovery [from COVID-19]”, it was decided that certain vaccination centres “should remain open during curfew hours”.

Meanwhile, the Government’s web-based appointment system for the registration, which will schedule appointments for persons wishing to be vaccinated, is slated to be launched today.

Individuals, 75 years and older, will be required to utilise the system for registration.

From March 22 to 28, these persons, along with Municipal Corporation representatives who are 60 years and older, will be able to get their vaccine.

The 75 and older cohort will also be vaccinated between March 29 and April 4, while those 60 and over, and persons working in private and public educational institutions, are slated to receive their vaccine between April 5 and 11.

Skip to content