JIS News

A total of 37 young persons have been nominated for the Prime Minister’s Youth Awards for Excellence, which will be presented on November 30, at Emancipation Park in Kingston.
Prime Minister, Bruce Golding, will make the presentations at the ceremony, which will commence at 5:00 p.m. Governor-General, His Excellency the Most Hon. Professor Sir Kenneth Hall, heads the list of officials expected to attend.
The nominees are as follows: Romelda Aiken, Christina Solmon, Kerron Stewart, Errol Kerr, Gregory Samuels and Shelly-Ann Fraser in the category of Sports; Andrew Clarke, Nadje Leslie, Andre Morris, Amorkard Brown, Tyane Robinson, Gregory Simms, Dane Campbell, Shavi Tolan and Stephanie Hazel in the category of Arts & Culture; Rodean Wallace, Tameka Hill, Kamal Powell, Orain Edwards; Gavin Powell, Odale Mulgrave, Shantez Stewart and Karl Wilkinson for Leadership; Dwayne Berbick, Garfene Grandison and Michelle Thomas for Journalism; Shampa Peart, Kevin Williams, Dana Marie Dick and Kristal Tucker for Academics; Nelsia English, Dave Rankin and Stevon Bent for Agriculture; Matthew O’Connor and Sequoia Thomas for Youth in Service and Mark Foster and Noelle Nicolls in the area of Entrepreneurship.
The Prime Minister’s Youth Awards for Excellence is the highest honour bestowed upon Jamaicans between the ages of 15-24. It was introduced in 1998 to recognise young people, who have excelled and contributed to national development and to give them a platform to showcase their achievements in various fields.
The awards ceremony, which is combined with the Jamaican Youth in Concert, is the culmination of National Youth Month activities. A total of 79 awards have been presented since 1998.

Skip to content