JIS News

A total of 136 outstanding Jamaicans including members of uniformed groups, who have contributed to nation building, will be officially recognised at the National Honours and Awards ceremony on National Heroes Day (October 18) on the lawns of King’s House, beginning at 9:00 a.m.
The awards will be presented in various categories including the Order of Jamaica (OJ); Order of Distinction in the ranks of Commander (CD) and Officer (OD); the Medal of Honour for Meritorious Service; and the Badges of Honour for Meritorious and Long and Faithful Service.
Five Jamaicans will receive the nation’s fifth highest honour, the OJ, for outstanding contribution in the fields of public service, community development, education, and diplomacy.
They are the Very Reverend Monsignor Gregory Ramkissoon for service to community development and the care of the poor and disadvantaged; Arnold Foote, for service in advertising , sports and diplomacy; Dr. Marshall Hall, for public service and contribution in the fields of agriculture, industry and education; Professor Emeritus Sylvia Wynter, for service to education, history and culture; Ambassador Sue Cobb, who will receive an honorary award for service as United States Ambassador to Jamaica and her continuing efforts to promote Jamaica’s interests and support development.
In addition, 18 persons will be conferred with the Order of Distinction, in the rank of Commander (CD), including Dr. Marion Bullock-DuCasse, for service to the heath sector; Ken Chaplain (OD), for achievements in journalism, public service and sports; Hon. Justice Howard Cooke, for service to judiciary; Joseph Mayer Matalon for contribution to the private and public sectors and community service; while Karl Young will be honoured posthumously for contribution to broadcasting and the promotion of reggae music.
Lee Roy Bailey is among 29 persons, who will receive the Order of Distinction in the Officer class (OD).
The list also includes Merline Daley, who will be awarded for her contribution to the insurance industry, local government and community development; Barrington Gordon for contribution to broadcasting; Lorraine Fenton for contribution to athletics; and Cleveland Stewart for contribution to public service and community development.
Meanwhile, the Badge of Honour for Meritorious Service will be conferred on 17 persons for their contribution to community service and development, education and public service; and 25 others will receive the Badge of Honour for Long and Faithful Service.
Three Jamaicans will be conferred with the Badge of Honour for Gallantry, including two members of the uniformed service, who will receive the award posthumously. They are Constable Jason Davis and Sergeant Wayne Henriques, for their courage in going to the assistance of injured colleagues, who had come under heavy gunfire from criminals in the vicinity for Excelsior High School on May 23, 2010.
The third honouree is Annette Howard, who is being recognised for providing assistance to passengers, who were aboard American Airlines Flight number 331, which crash landed at the Norman Manley International Airport ton December 22, 2009.
The ceremony, to be presided over by Governor-General, His Excellency the Most Hon. Sir Patrick Allen, will be streamed live on the JIS website at: www.jis.gov.jm.
Guests attending the function should be seated by 8:30 a.m.

Skip to content